Shannon Trail meeting minutes

Bill's Place at Wausa was the destination for the Shannon Trail Promoters on March 14.

Member Phil Wendzillo told of the Ponca Remembrance Walk starting at Niobrara on April 29 and ending May 11 at Barneston, NE.

This 277-mile walk commemorates the route of the tribe's removal from Knox Co. to Oklahoma in the 1870s. Stops will be made in Verdigre, Neligh, Newman Grove, Genoa, Columbus, David City, Seward, Milford, Crete, Wilber, and Beatrice. The public is invited to join in for all or part of the walk. Registration deadline is April 1. Contact Randy Teboe at 402-857-3519 or 402-860-9262.

The Discovery Travel Guides of northeast NE were made available for Promoters to distribute.

Megan Hanefeldt, Knox Co. Development Director is a member of Social Media on Tourism. Deb Loseke and Michael Collins of the State Tourism Commission spoke of the latest developments at the recent Norfolk meeting. John Ricks is the states new Executive Director.

The Shannon Trail Promoters will host Dancing for Tourism on April 8 at Bloomfield's American Legion building on the fairgrounds. This is an opportunity to teach dancing. Flyers have been taken to all area schools. A silent auction will be held. Modern Woodmen along with the Promoters and others are sponsoring this event. A video will be made by News Channel Nebraska.

The Promoters plan to be a part of the parade July 1 when Crofton celebrates their Q125. The Mobile Children's Museum celebrating Nebraska's 150th year will be in Crofton that weekend. It can be seen in other area towns this summer: April 29-30 in Plainview, May 4-5 in Neligh, May 7-8 in O'Niell, and July 8-9 in Wayne.

Marlin and Sharon Braun of Crofton shared their plans for a geocaching weekend May 5-6. Eighty-four new caches will be available for hunting. Registration is required.

The Promoters annual progressive dinner will be Wednesday, May 3. The nest meeting will be at CJ's at the Lake on Tuesday, April 4.



IN A MINUTES NOTICE



Town board annual pay ranges from \$480 to \$1,500

Editor's Note: This is the sixth story in an Observer series titled "In a Minutes Notice." These articles highlight information and news value in meeting minutes and other public notices published in newspapers. Part six lists town board pay in this area, along with time and place meeting information.

Area small towns range in size from Utica with 64 people, to the headcount of 415 in Gayville. Annual pay for serving on a town board locally ranges from \$480 to \$1,500.

Six of the eight communities mentioned in this article are governed by a three-person town board that holds monthly meetings to address old and new business facing the community. Two of the towns – Tabor and Irene – operate with five-person boards.

Following is a breakdown of pay local board members receive to manage municipal issues ranging from water quality and mosquito control to snow removal and law enforcement.

Town of Utica (population 64) is served by a three-person town board that includes Cherie Hoffman (board president), Jared Stark (trustee), and James Rye (trustee). The board president is paid \$180 per quarter or \$720 per year. Trustees receive \$138 per quarter or \$552 per year. Finance Officer Daniel Blessinger is paid \$221 per month or \$2,652 per year. Regular meeting time is 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Utica Multi-Use Facility (former Utica School building).

Town of Lesterville (population 126) has a three-person board that includes Mayor Daryl Bierle and trustees Trevor Munkvold and Kevin Frangenberg. All three board members receive \$55 per meeting or \$660 in a typical 12-meeting year. Finance Office Janelle Munkvold is paid \$13 per hour. Regular meeting time is second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Lesterville Fire Hall meeting room.

Town of Volin (population 160) has a three-person board that includes Mayor Corey Logan and trustees Dan Frank and Nancy Steffen. The mayor receives \$55 per month or \$660 per year for serving as president of the board. The two trustees receive \$50 per month or \$600 per year. Board members also



The Utica Town Board holds meetings in the former Utica School Building, which has been repurposed as the Utica Multi-Use Facility.

receive \$13 per hour for street maintenance and \$15 per hour for snow removal. Finance Officer Evelyn Kloucek is paid \$18 per hour. Regular meeting time is second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Volin Town Hall.

Town of Mission Hill (population 176) has a three-person board that includes board president Scott Vanburen and trustees Richard Muller and Robert Johnson. The board president receives \$60 per meeting or \$720 per year for 12 monthly meetings. Trustees receive \$40 per meeting or \$480 per year for 12 meetings. Board members also receive \$11 per hour for additional work or training. Finance Officer LeAnne Cutts is paid \$550 per month or \$6,600 per year. Regular meeting time is second Tuesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the Mission Hill Town Hall.

Town of Wakonda (pop. 312) has a three-person board that includes chairman Steve Mohr and trustees Terry Hackett and Adam Nelson. All three board members receive \$75 for the regular monthly meeting (\$900 per year) and \$30 for each special meeting attended. Finance Officer Nancy Andresen is paid \$17,674 per year. Regular meeting time is first Monday of each month in the council room of the Town of Wakonda office at 111 Ohio St.

City of Irene (population 409) has a five-person council that includes Mayor Bryce Johnke and board members Tammy Huether, Jeff Mc-Manus, Brent Mutschelknaus and Paul Erickson. The mayor is paid \$100 per meeting. Board

members receive \$80 per meeting. If the mayor attends all 12 monthly meetings, annual compensation is \$1,200. If a board member attends all 12 regular monthly meetings, annual compensation is \$960. Finance Officer Casey Van Beek is paid \$46,613 per year. She is the only full-time finance officer in the eight communities listed in this article. Regular meeting time in Irene is first Monday after the first Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m. in the council room at Irene City Hall.

Town of Tabor (population 412) has a five-person board

that includes board chairperson Laverne Schieffer and trustees Ken Carda, Rich Sutera, Aaron Melichar, and Linda Bares. The chairperson receives \$125 per month or \$1,500 per year. Trustees receive \$100 per month or \$1,200 per year. Finance Officer Evelyn Kloucek is paid \$890 per month or \$10,680 per year. Regular meeting time is first Monday of each month at 7:30 p.m. in the Town of Tabor front office at the Tabor Community Center.

Town of Gayville (population 415) has a three-person governing unit that includes Chairperson Jay Jorgensen and trustees Nick Huber and Mike Petersen. All three board members are paid \$80 per meeting attended. If a board member attends all 12 regular monthly meetings, annual compensation equals \$960. Town Clerk Sue Fields is paid \$550 per month or \$6,600 per year. Town Treasurer Sandy Heier is paid \$450 per month or \$5,400 per year. Regular meeting time is first Monday of each month at 6 p.m. in the Gayville Community Center.

Sources: Published meeting minutes of the Town of Utica, Town of Lesterville, Town of Volin, Town of Mission Hill, Town of Wakonda, City of Irene, Town of Tabor, and Town of Gayville.



Yankton, SD 57078 **Questions? Comments?**

Yankton Minerva's

1607 E HWY 50

Please Contact:
Food & Beverage Director
Janelle Wieseler
605-664-2244 **OR** jwieseler@minervas.net